Just Electric

Alex Sims fastest for BMW as Paffett crashes

Alex Sims set the fastest lap time for BMW i Andretti Motorsport as Formula E’s pre-season test started, with 22 cars present for the three-day test in Valencia.

Paffett lost control in the braking zone for the chicane on the pit straight and hit the wall, bringing out the red flags as the car had to be removed.

Sims’ fastest lap time was a 1:17.567 compared to the 1:18.669 set by Sam Bird last year despite the tighter chicane on the pit straight.

Antonio Felix da Costa was second as the BMW team showed very strong pace with the IFE.18

Audi’s Lucas di Grassi, and the DS Techeetah pairing of Jean-Eric Vergne and Andre Lotterer rounded out the top 5.

They seemed to be the only drivers who tried a qualifying simulation run.

Daniel Abt was sixth fastest for Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler ahead of the Virgin Racing-run car of Sam Bird.

Mitch Evans was eighth fastest for Jaguar ahead of Nissan’s Sebastien Buemi and series newcomer Felipe Massa rounded out the top ten for Venturi.

Massa’s teammate, Edoardo Mortara was 11th fastest in the other Venturi ahead of Virgin’s Robin Frijns and Tom Dillmann in the fastest of the NIOs.

Mahindra Racing’s Jerome d’Ambrosio was 14th fastest ahead of Jose Maria Lopez in the faster of the two Dragon Racing entries and Oliver Turvey in the second NIO.

D’Ambrosio’s teammate and newcomer to Formula E, Pascal Wehrlein was 17th fastest ahead of the HWA run Venturi of Stoffel Vandoorne and the Jaguar of Nelson Piquet.

After Paffett was Max Gunther in the second of the Dragon Racing entries and rounding out the 22 driver field was Alex Albon who didn’t set a time due to technical issues with his Nissan.

DriverTeamFastest TimeLaps
Alexander SimsBMW i Andretti Motorsport1:17.56733
Antonio Felix da CostaBMW i Andretti Motorsport1:17.73436
Lucas di GrassiAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler1:17.73938
Jean-Eric VergneDS Techeetah1:18.03322
Andre LottererDS Techeetah1:18.22733
Daniel AbtAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler1:18.51340
Sam BirdEnvision Virgin Racing1:18.73228
Mitch EvansJaguar Racing1:18.74715
Sebastien BuemiNissan e.dams1:18.90221
Felipe MassaVenturi Formula E1:19.14039
Edoardo MortaraVenturi Formula E1:19.21943
Robin FrijnsEnvision Virgin Racing1:19.27527
Tom DillmannNIO Formula E1:19.30021
Jerome d'AmbrosioMahindra Racing1:19.53530
Jose Maria LopezDragon Racing1:20.63129
Oliver TurveyNIO Formula E1:20.86518
Pascal WehrleinMahindra Racing1:20.9158
Stoffel VandoorneHWA Racelab1:21.02313
Nelson PiquetJaguar Racing1:21.62942
Gary PaffettHWA Racelab1:22.0837
Max GuentherDragon Racing1:32.2423
Alexander AlbonNissan e.dams0

Rob Lomas

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: