Just Electric

Rowland claims first FE pole in Sanya

Nissan e.dams’ Oliver Rowland will be starting on pole in Formula E for the first time in his career after setting the fastest time in qualifying ahead of the Sanya E-Prix.

The British driver had a very good second sector and that proved to be the difference between himself and the DS Techeetah of Jean-Eric Vergne in second.

Antonio Felix da Costa was third fastest for BMW i Andretti Motorsport after a big slide at Turn 11 with Daniel Abt setting the fourth fastest time for Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler.

Sebastien Buemi was fifth fastest in the second Nissan after having an almost identical trip into the barriers at Turn 3 but he was able to finish his lap. He locked up very early into the corner and was unable to recover, sending him straight into the barriers.

This was something which Alex Sims wasn’t even able to do as he was unable to make it out on track in Super Pole as he was unable to select a gear.  

Andre Lotterer was seventh fastest for DS Techeetah ahead of the Mahindra’s of Jerome d’Ambrosio and Pascal Wehrlein with the top ten being completed by Lucas di Grassi in the second of the Audi’s.

Edo Mortara was eleventh fastest for Venturi ahead of Robin Frijns for Envision Virgin and Stoffel Vandoorne was thirteenth despite a mistake at Turn 3 on his 250kw lap.

Jose Maria Lopez was fourteenth for Dragon ahead of Felipe Massa after the Brazilian had a couple of lockups on his 250kw lap and Sam Bird was unimpressed in sixteenth after a fairly average lap in the first group of qualifying.

Tom Dillmann was seventeenth for NIO ahead of the second Dragon entry of Felipe Nasr and Dillmann’s teammate, Oliver Turvey.

Mitch Evans made contact with the wall at Turn 6 and was only twentieth ahead of Garry Paffett, who lost 6 tenths in the first sector alone and Evans’ teammate, Nelson Piquet, will round out the grid for Jaguar.   

Rob Lomas

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: