Just Electric

Da Costa triumphs again for third consecutive win

Antonio Felix Da Costa claimed a dominant lights to flag victory in the second Berlin E-Prix to extend his lead at the front of the championship standings.

Da Costa faced little opposition throughout the race, led every lap, and finished 3 seconds clear of the rest of the field.

His third consecutive Formula E victory puts him on par with Nissan e.dams Sebastien Buemi in the record for the most consecutive wins.

Buemi was the only man to get close to Da Costa in the 38-lap race. He kept the pressure on the pole sitter through the first half of the race, but over slowed during a Full Course Yellow and dropped off Da Costa’s tail.

From that point on, Buemi had to focus on defending against Lucas Di Grassi, Robin Frijns, and Stoffel Vandoorne behind.

The Nissan driver got close to Da Costa again when Da Costa took the Attack Mode, but couldn’t get ahead of the Techeetah driver and Da Costa quickly pulled away.

The victory puts Da Costa 68 points clear of Lucas Di Grassi and Stoffel Vandoorne at the top of the championship standings.

Buemi managed to shake off Di Grassi in the second half of the race to take a comfortable second as Di Grassi battled against Frijns. The two Audi powered drivers swapped positions a handful of times as each took their Attack Modes, but it was Di Grassi on top after the extra power finished.

Frijns continued to push and the pair made contact multiple times. Vandoorne was drawn onto the back of the battle and almost managed to pass Frijns on the final lap but the Dutchman held on to take fourth.

Vandoorne’s fifth place finish was enough to put him level on points with Lucas Di Grassi in second in the championship, though he drops back to third on countback.

Sam Bird took sixth ahead of Oliver Rowland, Edoardo Mortara, and Andre Lotterer. Jean-Eric Vergne completed the top 10.

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: