Just Electric

Wehrlein takes pole on the Paris streets

Pascal Wehrlein took pole for the Paris E-Prix with a lap 0.152 seconds clear of Oliver Rowland, with the Mahindra racer becoming the first driver this season to clinch two pole positions.

Rowland’s Nissan e.dams team-mate Sebastien Buemi was third quickest, followed by Envision Virgin Racing’s Robin Frijns who took fourth place with a lurid lap.

Venturi’s Felipe Massa went out first in the Super Pole session and complained of a dirty track, but managed to put in the fifth quickest time ahead of Wehrlein’s team-mate Jerome d’Ambrosio.

In the group stages, Rowland had topped the times ahead of Wehrlein and Buemi – all three drivers setting their times in the third group.

Frijns was fourth in the group classification after setting his lap time in the second group, while championship leader d’Ambrosio was impressively fifth quickest overall despite going out in the very first group.

The other drivers from the first group will start eighth (Andre Lotterer), 10th (Lucas di Grassi), 16th (Antonio Felix da Costa) and 20th (Mitch Evans) respectively.

Massa rounded out the Super Pole runners with a lap good enough for sixth overall, having also gone out in the third group.

The first three groups passed without major incident, while in the fourth group Dragon Racing’s Jose Maria Lopez made a mistake on his flying lap, and will start 22nd and last on the grid.

The best placed driver from the fourth group was Lopez’ team-mate Maximilian Guenther, who just missed out on Super Pole and will start the race from seventh.

Rounding out the top ten were Lotterer, Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi (both Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler).

The race begins at 4pm local time in Paris.

Laurence Thorn

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: