Just Electric

A Guide to the FIM Moto E World Cup

In 2019, the MotoGP paddock will host a new electric category in the form of the FIM Enel Moto E World Cup, as part of the global effort to combine racing with speed and sustainability.

So, with no further ado, here is everything you need to know about the 2019 FIM Enel Moto E World Cup. 

The Bike

The Moto E World Cup will use bikes manufactured by the Energica Motor Company, that use a high voltage lithium ion battery that produces around 120kW (160bhp).

In addition, the battery will use a Fast Charge DC Mode 4, which will allow it to reach 85% charge within 20 minutes.

The Energica Ego Corsa also uses a ride-by-wire throttle system that’ll reach around 5,000rpm. 

The riders are expected to achieve a top speed of 270km/h (168mph), with Michelin and Brembo involved as technical partners.


Energica Ego Corsa


120kW (160bhp)

0-60 Time

2.8 seconds

Top Speed

270km/h (168mph)

Charge Time

85% in approx. 20 minutes





Dorna Sports Safety Advisor Loris Capirossi – a winner of eight MotoGP races – was one of the first people to test the bike and discussed what it is like to ride:

“When you get on and start, you don’t realise that it’s electric,” Capirossi said.

“The weight distribution is low, while the throttle connection is easy, precisely because it’s electric.”

Capirossi added: “The torque is always constant as there is no gearbox, while the weight is over 240kg plus, I must say that the bike is not bad at all in direction changes.”

Calendar and Format

The inaugural Moto E World Cup calendar will be made up of six races across four Grand Prix weekends, all of which will be contested in Europe.

The season was due to kick-off with races at Jerez and Le Mans. However, these were cancelled after a fire broke in a specially-built facility that housed the Moto E bikes.

Subsequently, Germany’s Sachsenring will host the first Moto E race on July 7.

The series will then travel to Austria in August and will be followed by a double-header in San Marino on the 14 and 15 September 2019.

To compensate for the cancelled races at the start of the season, two new races in Valencia will have been added. 

They’ll occur on the 16 and 17 November and will sign off the 2019 FIM Enel Moto E World Cup.



Circuit, Region



Spanish Grand Prix

Circuito de Jerez-Angel Neito, Jerez de la Frontera


French Grand Prix

Bugatti Circuit, Le Mans


German Grand Prix

Sachsenring, Hohenstein-Ernstthal

7 July 2019


Austrian Grand Prix

Red Bull Ring, Spielberg

11 August 2019


San Marino Grand Prix

Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, Misano Adriatico

14 September 2019


15 September 2019


Valencian Grand Prix

Circuit Ricardo Tormo, Valencia

16 November 2019


17 November 2019

The Moto E format will consist of the following:

  • Two free practices on Fridays
  • A Qualifying Session on Saturdays
  • The proposed ten-lap race will take place on Sundays before the Moto3 race
  • A race each on the Saturday and Sunday for the double-headers in Misano and Valencia

Riders and Teams

18 riders across 12 teams will race in the 2019 FIM Moto E World Cup and features many recognisable names in the world of motorcycle racing.

Former MotoGP rider Bradley Smith – who topped the timesheets in the first Moto E test – will compete alongside the likes of Alex de Angelis, Sete Gibernau, Randy de Puniet and Xavier Simeon.

Joining them on the grid will be 125cc world champions Mike Di Meglio and Nico Terol and FIM CEV Moto2 champions Jesko Raffin and Eric Granado.

Angel Nieto’s Maria Herrera will be the only female rider on the grid.



Rider (Nationality)

Notable Achievements

Dynavolt Intact GP


Jesko Raffin (SUI)

2014 & 2018 FIM CEV Moto 2 World Champion

Tech 3 E-Racing


Hector Garzo (ESP)



Kenny Foray (FRA)


Alma Pramac Racing


Alex de Angelis (SMR)

2nd, 2003 125cc World Championship; 3rd, 2006 & 2007 250cc World Championship


Joshua Hook (AUS)


Angel Neito Team


Maria Herrera (ESP)



Nicolas Terol (ESP)

2011 125cc World Champion

Trentino Gresini MotoE


Matteo Ferrari (ITA)



Lorenzo Savadori (ITA)


LCR E-Team


Randy de Puniet (FRA)

3rd, 2004 250cc World Championship


Niccolo Canepa (ITA)


Pons Racing


Sete Gibernau (ESP)

2nd, 2003 & 2004 MotoGP Championship

Avintia Esponsorama Racing


Xavier Simeon (BEL)



Eric Granado (BRA)

2017 FIM CEV Moto2 European Champion

Ongetta SIC58 Squarda Corse


Mattia Casadei (ITA)


One Energy Racing


Bradley Smith (GBR)

2nd, 2009 125cc World Championship

EG 0,0 Marc VDS


Mike Di Meglio (FRA)

2008 125cc World Champion

Ajo Motorsport MotoE


Nikki Tuuli (FIN)




Any riders that compete in the FIM Moto E World Cup are not allowed to compete in any Grand Prix class during a weekend in which there is a Moto E race. Additionally, wildcard entries are not permitted.

Teams will also be banned from testing any electric-powered motorcycle outside of the official Moto E tests.

For each weekend, type supplier Michelin will provide one type of front and rear slick type and one type of front and rear rain tyre, with the potential to change the specifications for each race.

Each rider will be allowed to use four front slick tyres and five rears, and three front rain tyres and four rears.  

The championship kicks off this weekend at Germany’s Sachsenring, with qualifying on Saturday and the inaugural race on Saturday morning.

Photo Credit: MotoGP/Dorna

Aaron Lloyd Collins

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: