Just Electric

Andretti United earn spot in final

Timmy Hansen and Catie Munnings earn Andretti United a spot in the Desert X-Prix final after a victory in the Crazy Race.

Only one team from the second race of the weekend would make it through to the final, joining Rosberg X Racing and X44.

Hansen started for Andretti United and got a great start, but was under pressure from Hispano Suiza’s Oliver Bennett early on.

Bennett was able to stick with Hansen through the first part of the lap, with the pair leaving JBXE’s Jenson Button behind. However he couldn’t keep up the pace through the entire lap and, by the time Hansen entered the Switch Zone, Bennett was already 30s behind.

Munnings maintained the advantage over Christine Giampaoli Zonca. Over the course of the lap, Giampaoli Zonca was able to narrowly close the gap, but the pair were still 30.342s apart by the chequered flag.

After a dramatic qualifying day, Button and team-mate Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky finally got a clean run to come home P3 and 1m06.662s behind Andretti United.

Image courtesy of Extreme E

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: