Just Electric

X44 continues Extreme E qualifying domination

X44 tops the opening qualifying session for the Jurassic X-Prix, avoiding a time penalty for missing the team’s starting time.

Sebastien Loeb and Cristina Gutierrez were supposed to be seventh in the running order, but a front inverter malfunction meant they missed their starting slot. The team could have been hit with a 10 second penalty, which would have dropped them down to fourth, but the stewards determined the team were not at fault for the delay.

The X44 duo hit the muddy Dorset circuit last and, despite a small mistake on Loeb’s run sending him into the advertising boards at the end of a jump, the pair finished fastest overall.

After three laps – the drivers first in the car each session must complete two laps this weekend – the X44 team set a time of 9m19.985s.

The time put them just 1.901s ahead of the XRX team of Johan Kristoffersson and Molly Taylor.

The ABT Cupr XE duo were out first, managing a 9m24.387s time, which put the team top of the order for most of the session.

RXR would knock them down to P2 on their run, before the Sainz squad of Carlos Sainz and Laia Sans bumped them down another position. Sainz hit an issue early in his lap when the driver’s side door came open, but was able to continue to set a time that would place them third overall.

Veloce’s Lance Woolridge and Jamie Chadwick placed fifth ahead of Timmy Hansen and Catie Munnings for Andretti United.

Kyle Leduc and Katie Price for Chip Ganassi Racing took seventh, while the JBXE duo of Kevin Hansen and Mikaela Ahlin-Hottulinsky beat Xite’s Oliver Bennett and Christine Giampaoli Zonca.

Image courtesy of Extreme E

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: