Just Electric

X44 win the semi final of season opener Desert X-Prix

The X44 team led the first semi-final round to earn a spot in the upcoming final. Ganassi took victory in the second semi-final, while debutants McLaren did so in the Crazy Race.

The Sebastien Loeb and Cristina Gutierrez duo, at the wheel of the X44 car, finished their semi-final run on top of the standings. 

The first semi-final was no short of drama, as the Xite Racing car of Oliver Bennett clashed with the RXR entry of Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky. The Spanish team finished their run in second place, but received a ten-place penalty afterwards which promoted the RXR team to the second position and subsequently a place in the final.

The second semi-final was won by the Chip Ganassi team of Sara Price and Kyle Le Duc. The American team comfortably led their run, and easily secured a spot in the final. 

However, the semi-final did not go as planned for their fellow Americans at Andretti, as Timmy Hansen rolled while doing his lap, which cut short his chances to go through the next stage. The Acciona Sainz team eventually finished in second position, reaching the final. 

The Crazy Race defined the fifth finalist. The debutant McLaren team, which has Emma Gilmour and Tanner Foust at the wheel, finished their run on top of the standings, with a strong performance which catapulted them from last to first, and gave them the chance to be in the final. 

Andrea Perilli

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: