Just Electric

Vergne leads historic Techeetah 1-2 in Santiago

Jean-Eric Vergne claimed victory at the Santiago ePrix ahead of team-mate Andre Lotterer as Techeetah claimed the first one-two finish in Formula E.

Lotterer took his first podium in the all-electric series with Renault e.Dams in third with Sebastien Buemi.

The result means Renault-powered cars claimed all three spots on the podium, also a Formula E first.

Vergne took pole position earlier in the day and led throughout the race despite an early safety car thanks to Jose Maria Lopez’s Dragon Racing car being stuck in the wall.

Lotterer was running third in the first stint but overtook Jaguar Racing’s Nelson Piquet before the pit stop window.

Formula E rookie Lotterer came out behind Vergne and appeared to have lost time to his team-mate but went out to close the gap.

In the last few laps of the race, the team-mates met on track with Lotterer hitting Vergne from behind in the braking zone of Turn 2.

It allowed Buemi, who started second and took advantage of Piquet outbraking himself trying to re-pass Buemi, to close in on the pair.

Felix Rosenqvist finished in fourth despite starting 14th after making his way through the field. The Swede was running towards the lower end of the points paying positions before the pit stops.

DS Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird was fifth despite losing out in the pit stops. The Brit tried to go a lap longer in his first car to avoid a busy pit lane but came out behind Alex Lynn.

Lynn would have a car issue later on in the race that caused him to retire.

Piquet came home in sixth despite running wide trying to overtake Buemi for third place.

The season one champion was on course to finish fourth for the third time since his move to Jaguar Racing but locked up and went straight on at Turn 2 – Rosenqvist and Bird both overtook Piquet as the Brazilian recovered.

Piquet’s Jaguar team-mate, Mitch Evans, finished seventh despite starting 20th and serving a time penalty for not being able to serve a full grid penalty for an inverter change.
Dragon’s Jerome d’Ambrosio was eighth, ahead of Antonio Felix da Costa and Nico Prost. Tom Blomqvist, Luca Filippi, Edoardo Mortara and Oliver Turvey rounded out the finishers.

Lynn was classified in 15th place, ahead of Nick Heidfeld for Mahindra.

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler had a double retirement with Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt failing to finish. It means reigning champion di Grassi has not scored in four races this season.
First lap retirements Jose Maria Lopez and Maro Engel completed the order.

1Jean-EricVERGNE37 laps
9Antonio FelixDA COSTA14.811
NCAlexLYNN11 laps
NCLucasDI GRASSI16 laps
NCDanielABT26 laps
NCJosé MariaLOPEZ37 laps
NCMaroENGEL37 laps

Jack Amey

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: