Just Electric

NIO confirms Ma and Turvey as FE releases testing line-up

Ma Qinghua will join Oliver Turvey at NIO in testing ahead of the 2019-20 championship as Formula E releases the provisional driver line-up for the upcoming season.

Turvey will start his fifth season with the team, which he joined at the end of season one when the squad ran under its NextEV title.

Ma has competed in nine Formula E races so far, most recently for NIO in the 2017-18 season finale, where he stood in for an injured Turvey. He has also driven for Aguri and Techeetah during sporadic appearances in the series.

The full line-up for 2019-20 pre-season testing, listed below, includes only four Formula E rookies: both Dragon drivers Brendon Hartley and Nico Mueller, Mercedes’ Nyck de Vries, and Jaguar Racing’s James Calado. Of the 12 teams, five have retained the same line-up as season five.

Pre-season testing begins in Valencia next week.

TeamCar NoDriver
Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler11Lucas di Grassi
 66Daniel Abt
BMW i Andretti Motorsport27Alexander Sims
 28Maximilian Guenther
DS Techeetah13Antonio Felix da Costa
 25Jean-Eric Vergne
Envision Virgin Racing2Sam Bird
 4Robin Frijns
Dragon Racing6Brendon Hartley
 8Nico Mueller
Mahindra Racing64Jerome d'Ambrosio
 94Pascal Wehrlein
Mercedes Benz EQ Formula E5Stoffel Vandoorne
 17Nyck de Vries
NIO 333 Formula E3Oliver Turvey
 33Ma Qinghua
Nissan e.dams22Oliver Rowland
 23Sebastien Buemi
Jaguar Racing20Mitch Evans
 51James Calado
Porsche Formula E Team18Neel Jani
 36Andre Lotterer
Venturi Racing19Felipe Massa
 48Edoardo Mortara

Bethonie Waring

Looking for something in particular?

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: