Just Electric

Ehrlacher victorious as Panis extends championship lead

Aurelien Panis extended his championship lead ahead of the Andros e-Trophy season finale next weekend, as Yann Ehrlacher stormed to his fourth victory of the season.

Panis and Ehrlacher both made it through to the Super Final, while a difficult qualifying for championship rival Jean-Baptiste Dubourg left him outside the top six.

Ehrlacher led from lights to flag and, though Andreas Bakkerud was close behind for most of the race, he had a comfortable enough gap to the rest of the field.

Bakkerud fell backwards in the final lap, leaving Ehrlacher to take the chequered flag almost five seconds ahead of second placed Nathaneal Berthon.

Panis made a poor start, dropping behind Quentin Giordano off the line. The pair ran nose to tail, with Berthon briefly brought into the fight, before Panis managed to find his way back ahead midway through the race.

The championship leader finished third, 9.246s behind Ehrlacher and only just ahead of Giordano.

Bakkerud took the chequered flag fifth in what will be his final race of the season, the Audi driver having to miss the season finale due to prior commitments.

Franck Lagorce completed the top six.

In the second final, Dubourg took a comfortable victory, consistently setting fastest laps to finish almost three seconds ahead of Olivier Pernaut.

Despite the disappointing qualifying, the Renault driver remains second in the championship standings, just 13 points behind Panis but only five points ahead of Ehrlacher.

Race one winner Benjamin Riviere took third, having spent the second half of the race holding off Olivier Panis.

Nico Prost and Christophe Ferrier completed the order.

Image courtesy of Bruno Bade

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: