Just Electric

Evans wins the second Jaguar I-PACE eTrophy title

Simon Evans secured the Jaguar I-PACE eTrophy title with a second place finish in the final round of the championship.

The Team Asia New Zealand driver started from second after a strong qualifying performance, ahead of his title rival Sergio Jimenez.

Almost immediately Evans and pole sitter Caca Bueno were able to pull away from Jimenez, who was challenged by Nick Foster off the line.

Evans stuck close to Bueno, briefly claiming the race lead after the Jaguar Brazil racing driver activated attack mode, but he couldn’t hold the position while Bueno had the extra power.

He finished 0.357s behind Bueno, but it was enough to put him ahead in the championship fight.

Jimenez held onto third, forcing Foster into the wall on the opening lap as Foster tried a move around the outside of turn one.

Once free of challengers, Jimenez couldn’t find the pace to close onto the back of Evans, even during Attack Mode, and finished a distant 2.7s behind. The finish put him just two points behind Evans in the championship fight.

Alice Powell took fourth ahead of Foster, Gregory Segers and Takuma Aoki.

For the second race in a row Fahad Algosaibi did not win the Pro-Am class. The Saudi Racing driver fell behind Adalberto Baptista when he activated attack mode. As he tried to make a move up the inside of Baptista, Baptista closed the door and Algosaibi was left with heavy damage to the front of his Jaguar.

He came into the pits for repairs and managed to make it back out, finishing P11 overall as Baptista secured his first class win with an eighth overall.

VIP drivers Sven Foerster and Jessica Hawkins completed the top 10.

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: