Just Electric

Ehrlacher fights back to victory in Andorra

Yann Ehrlacher takes a hard-fought victory in the second Andros eTrophy race of the weekend in Andorra.

The pole-sitter dropped down to third after a slow start, but put in a monumental drive to climb back up to the front of the field.

Despite missing much of the bodywork around the front right of his car, he kept it under control to take the win by more than two seconds.

It was Aurelien Panis who got the best start and dived into the race lead, with Dorian Boccolacci following him past Ehrlacher.

Ehrlacher managed to get moving before anyone else could come through and was immediately on the attack. He forced a way past Boccolacci to take second but Panis was harder to catch and overtake.

Panis put up a good defence, but in the end Ehrlacher was able to find a way through. Ehrlacher snuck up the inside and the pair made contact, leaving Ehrlacher with significant damage to the front right, but it wasn’t severe enough to cause an issue.

With bodywork almost getting caught up under the wheel, Ehrlacher held on to take his first win of the season, 2.286s ahead of Panis.

Boccolacci took fourth ahead of Nathaneal Berthon and the fast starting Jean-Baptiste Dubourg.

The result puts Dubourg and Panis level on points after the second round of the 2021-22 season. Both lie six points ahead of Ehrlacher and seven ahead of Berthon.

Romain Grosjean and Nico Prost also ran in the Super Final. Both struggled on the opening lap and dropped off the tail of the rest of the field. Grosjean took sixth, 10s behind Berthon, with Prost a further 8s back.

Olivier Pernaut had a less dramatic drive to victory in the second Final. He had extended a gap of more than two seconds mid-way through the race, but Jeremy Sarhy closed back in on the pole sitter and was just half a second behind by the chequered flag.

Despite hitting the snow walls multiple times, Louis Gervoson held onto third ahead of Christophe Ferrier, Sylvian Pussier, and Nicolas Baert.

Image courtesy of Bruno Bade, Gredgoire Sigaud

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: