Just Electric

eTrophy round-up: Evans and Jimenez take wins in opening rounds

Simon Evans and Sergio Jimenez both took lights-to-flag victories in Saudi Arabia as the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy returned for a second season.

Team Asia New Zealand’s Evans won the opening race on Friday from pole position while reigning champion Jimenez, driving for Jaguar Brazil Racing, did the same on Saturday.

Evans won the opening 17-lap race by 5.2seconds from Jimenez with the returning Alice Powell completing the podium.

Powell had completed one race in the VIP car last season but is now driving for Team Germany.

Yaqi Zhang finished in fourth place ahead of Abbie Eaton in fifth, making her I-Pace eTrophy debut in the Jaguar VIP car.

Fahad Algosaibi finished in sixth place on debut and finishing 20s clear of seventh placed Sun Chao.

Mario Haberfeld, Mashhur Bal Hejaila and Reema Juffali, who competed in British F4 in 2019, rounded out the order in race one.

Race two had a similar podium, with Jimenez and Evans swapping positions, with the latter finishing less than a second behind Jimenez.

Powell once again finished third, 6.2s down, with Eaton finishing the race in fourth place.

Zhang came home in fifth place with Chao in sixth place.

Haberfeld finished in seventh place after being given a 24-second penalty for causing a collision while Bal Hejaila was eighth.

Bal Hejaila was given a 24-second penalty for overtaking under the safety car.

Juffali and Algosaibi did not finish the race.

Photo courtesy Jaguar Racing

Jack Amey

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: