Just Electric

Jaguar qualifying cancelled after Abt crash

Qualifying for the Mexico round of the 2019-20 Jaguar I-PACE eTrophy has been cancelled following Daniel Abt’s Formula E FP1 crash.

The session was initially delayed as marshals worked to reconstruct the barriers at turn eight and the 11 car field lined up at the side of the start-finish straight to begin the session.

As work continued, the session was cancelled to ensure the rest of the tight timetable stayed on time.

This afternoon’s grid will instead be based on the times set during yesterday’s free practice session.

Joint championship leaders Sergio Jimenez and Simon Evans occupy the front row of the grid, with Jimenez 1.155s quicker than the Team Asia New Zealand driver in FP1.

Caca Bueno will start his first race of the season from third, ahead of Alice Powell and Fahad Algosaibi, the quickest of the Pro-Am drivers.

Championship newcomer Manuel Cabrera put himself sixth overall, ahead of VIP driver Mario Dominguez and Mashhur Bal Hejaila.

Nine drivers, including Adalberto Baptista, had lap times deleted throughout the session for exceeding track limits. The Jaguar Brazil driver had a number of laps deleted in his first session in the championship and will line-up ninth on the grid.

David Cheng and Takuma Aoki completed the order.

Image courtesy of Jaguar Racing

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: