Just Electric

Mahindra drivers receive 40-place grid-penalty in Mexico

Mahindra Racing’s Mexico City E-Prix has got off to a difficult start as both drivers receive grid penalties.

Both Pascal Wehrlein and Jerome d’Ambrosio will be taking 40-place grid penalties after both their full-season allocation of gearboxes changed.

The technical regulations state that a driver can only use two homologated gearboxes for an entire season with each gearbox over that threshold incurring a 20-place grid penalty. Both drivers have already changed gearbox twice this season, resulting in a 40-place penalty.

As there are only 24 drivers and neither driver will be able to serve their full penalty, both Wehrlein and d’Ambrosio will have to serve an additional penalty during the race, the severity of which will depend on where they qualify.

If they make it inside the top four, then they’ll only have to take a drive-through penalty. Anything outside of that would necessitate a 10-second stop-go penalty.

Mahindra has enjoyed mixed qualifying results so far this season. In both Diriyah races, D’Ambrosio placed in Super Pole, while Wehrlein was only able to manage a best result of P13. Fortunes were reversed in Santiago, however, where Wehrlein qualified third while D’Ambrosio started the race 20th.

Rob Lomas

1 comment

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: