Just Electric

Mortara fastest in FP1 as Abt crashes

Edoardo Mortara set the pace in an eventful opening practice session for the Mexico City E-Prix.

Mortra set a 1:09.273 to lead the Mahindra pairing of Pascal Wehrlein and Jerome d’Ambrosio, who will both be taking sizable grid penalties.

Felipe Massa was fourth fastest in the other Venturi ahead of Mercedes’ Stoffel Vandoorne, Lucas di Grassi for Audi and Nissan’s Sebastien Buemi.

The top 10 was rounded out by Dragon’s Nico Mueller, Porsche’s Andre Lotterer, and Antonio Felix Da Costa in the DS TEcheetah.

The session was stopped early following a sizable off for Audi’s Daniel Abt on the way into the Foro Sol at Turn 8.

Mitch Evans was 11th for Jaguar with Nyck de Vries, Brendon Hartley, James Calado and Neel Jani rounded out the Top 15 for Mercedes, Dragon, Jaguar and Porsche respectively.

DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne, the Envision Virgin pairing of Sam Bird and Robin Frijns and BMW pairing of Alex Sims and Maximillian Guenther rounded out the top 20

NIO’s Oliver Turvey was 20th ahead of Nissan’s Oliver Rowland, Abt and Ma Qinghua rounded out the field.

Other than Abt’s accident, several drivers also ran wide whilst inside the Foro Sol, including de Vries, d’Ambrosio, and Vergne.

Rob Lomas

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: