Just Electric

Indy Car champion Rahal announces I-Pace eTrophy team

Three-time Indy Car champion Bobby Rahal’s team has become the first team to enter the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy.

The Rahal Letterman Lanigan team, which has spent the past seven years competing in the IndyCar championship, is expanding to join the grid of the Formula E support series, which launches in December 2018.

Bobby Rahal will lead the squad as team principal.

“Innovation is integral to motorsports and electric car racing is an important part of the future, so this opportunity came at the perfect time for RLL,” he said.

“We are thrilled to be competing in the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy series next year, working alongside an electric innovator like Jaguar.

“Even though the first race is some time off in the distance, we’re already looking forward to participating.

“Certainly, electric power is relatively new in motorsport but being at the forefront of the technological advancement made possible by testing on the racetrack that can transfer over into production cars is exciting for us.

“To be able to contribute in some way in the testing and development of electric vehicles that ultimately will provide more options for consumers is something to be proud of.”

The I-Pace eTrophy will be the first championship for production electric vehicles and will run alongside FE’s fifth season. Jaguar Land Rover’s Special Vehicle Operations will provide 20 I-Pace cars to compete on the same circuit as the FE racers.

Jaguar Racing’s team director James Barclay said the series is in discussion with a number of teams and drivers about future entries.

“The series is in a strong place and we look forward to announcing more news over the next few months.”

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: