Just Electric

Marrakesh Rookie Test Entry List Confirmed

With ten days to go until the Marrakesh Rookie Test, the official entry list has been confirmed, featuring young talents and experienced drivers, proving once again Formula E’s ever growing popularity in motorsports.

Drivers from a variety of series will be in Marrakesh, Morocco, next Sunday 14th January, to have their first taste of Formula E, as they take part in the rookie test.

The test, to be held at the Circuit International Automobile Moulay El Hassan, will feature two drivers per team, who will participate in two sessions throughout the day.

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler was one of the first teams to confirm their lineup, with DTM racer Nico Müller, teaming up with junior series’ star Nyck de Vries. In dialogue with Just Electric, Müller expressed his opinion on testing at a street course “There’s no room for errors and an additional bit of precision in your driving is needed”.

It was known by late 2017 that Venturi’s third driver Michael Benyahia would be one of the two drivers to jump into one of the seats; with the other being occupied by 2005 DTM champion Gary Paffett, who currently drives for Mercedes in the German touring car championship.

Dragon Racing announced their lineup last December, with Italy’s Andrea Caldarelli teaming up with Maximilian Günther. The latter looked enthusiastic ahead of this new venture when talking to Just Electric “[It’s] great to confirm that I will be testing Formula E at the beginning of 2018. It will be a new challenge, thanks to Dragon Racing for this opportunity. I’m really looking forward to it”.

James Rossiter and Fédéric Makowiecki will test for TECHEETAH. Rossiter has already taken part in the pre-season testing in Valencia, whilst this will be Makowiecki’s first time at the wheel of a Formula E car.

Andretti will feature IndyLights’ latest champion Colton Herta and DTM 2012 season winner Bruno Spengler. The young American competed with Andretti in the ladder to the IndyCar series last 2017, whereas the Canadian has been driving for BMW since 2012 in the German championship.

Before the official entry list being confirmed, three teams had officially confirmed their lineups. Panasonic Jaguar Racing will have Pietro Fittipaldi and Paul di Resta testing for them. Rumours have been finally confirmed that the young Brazilian will test for the British outfit.

WEC star Harry Tincknell will be joined by Alexandre Imperatori -who raced for many years on the LMP1 Privateer class; in the NIO garage. The Swiss was at Hong Kong with the Chinese team and has been key on the testing of their latest road car. Tincknell will test a Formula E for the second time on his career, as he had been behind the wheel of the Jaguar car prior to the start of S3.

DS Virgin Racing confirmed earlier this week Joel Eriksson’s participation in the rookie test; and Ferrari’s third driver Antonio Giovinazzi has been announced as the occupant of the second seat. The British squad has gone for a young and strong lineup for the testing held in Moroccan soil.

Reigning Teams’ Champions Renault e.dams will have Formula 2 driver Alexander Albon and Mitsunori Takaboshi testing for them in Marrakesh. The latter is linked to Nissan, manufacturer that will take over the French team at the start of S5.

After testing for the Indian squad ahead of Season 4, Spain’s Daniel Juncadella will be with Mahindra Racing once again, at a test he will share garage with Belgium’s Sam Dejonghe.

This is Formula E’s first ever collective rookie test, after having collective testing in the off-season periods and a testing session after both the 2014 and 2015 Punta del Este ePrix.

Andrea Perilli

1 comment

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: