Just Electric

11 manufacturers to be homologated by FIA in Season 6

The FIA has announced today that eleven manufacturers will be homologated ahead of Season 6. 

With Mercedes and Porsche joining the FIA Formula E Championship in Season 6, the list of manufacturers has been extended to eleven, with the other nine being the manufacturer teams which currently race in the fully-electric championship.

Next season, Formula E will welcome Nissan, as the Japanese marque takes over Renault; whereas BMW joins full-time. The German manufacturer has been present in the series since the beginning, with vehicles such as the Safety Car and Medical Car are part of the BMWi brand, and has been involved with the Andretti team since Season 3.

There has been no announcement whether there will be costumer teams running in the series’ sixth season. In the current season, leading team TECHEETAH is the only customer team in the grid.

The future landscape of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is growing more and more, and today as we confirm two additional manufacturers for the sixth season we have more evidence of the success of this concept“, commented FIA President Jean Todt. “Formula E is going from strength to strength, and the commitment of manufacturers to sustainable racing technology is very encouraging“.

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E, highlighted the arrival of Mercedes and Porsche to the fully-electric championship. Mercedes called time on its DTM program, as the 2018 season will be the last one for them in the German Touring Car Championship. Porsche, on the other hand, finished its LMP1 program last year, only running GT cars on endurance racing.

I’m delighted to see both Mercedes-Benz and Porsche alongside some of the existing names on the official list of homologated manufacturers for season six. We continue to exceed all of the initial expectations set out when we started this journey just four years ago.

Combine this with the ever-growing list of partners joining the electric racing revolution and it’s clear that the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is a very exciting place to be in motorsports“.

The entry list is the following:

-Audi Sport


-DS Automobiles

-Jaguar Land Rover

-Mahindra Racing




-Penske Autosport

-Porsche AG

-Venturi Automobiles

Andrea Perilli

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: