Just Electric

Evans quickest in opening session in Berlin

Jaguar Racing’s Mitch Evans topped the timesheets for the opening practice session of the 2019 FIA Formula E Berlin E-Prix.

Evans posted a time of 1m08.162s to top the timings ahead of Venturi’s Edoardo Mortara and HWA Racelab’s Stoffel Vandoorne.

Both Mortara and Vandoorne spent time at the top of the leader board with times of 1m08.228s and 1m08.277s respectively.

Nissan e.dams’ Sebastien Buemi, whose last Formula E victory came in Berlin in 2017, was fourth fastest – just over a tenth faster than Evans’ Jaguar team-mate, Alex Lynn.

Lynn claimed fifth place with a 1m08.400s, holding off BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Antonio Felix da Costa by 0.003s and Mahindra Racing’s Jerome d’Ambrosio by 0.007s.

Robin Frijns was the fastest Audi-powered entry in his Envision Virgin Racing with Audi works driver Daniel Abt in ninth.

Alexander Sims rounded off the top 10 with a 1m08.536s.

NIO’s Tom Dillmann was 11th, half a second off the pace, as he finished ahead of Dragon Racing’s Jose Maria Lopez and the second Audi of Lucas di Grassi.

Dillmann’s NIO team-mate, Oliver Turvey, was 14th with Oliver Rowland, just behind.

Pascal Wehrlein ended the opening practice session for his home race in 16th place with fellow compatriot Andre Lotterer 17th.

Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird was 18th, ahead of Maximilian Guenther, championship leader Jean-Eric Vergne, Venturi’s Felipe Massa and HWA’s Gary Paffett.


Jack Amey

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: