Just Electric

RXR and JBXE top Island X-Prix semi-finals

Rosberg X Racing and JBXE win the Semi-Finals to go through to the Island X-Prix final in Sardinia.

RXR took a dominant victory in race one, finishing more than 18 seconds clear of the Xite Racing duo.

Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky in the RXR car went head to head with Timmy Hansen in the Andretti run car off the line. The pair pushed hard and Ahlin-Kottulinsky was at first able to keep Hansen at bay, but an alternate line allowed Hansen to come through and take the race lead.

The pair were separated by just 1.69s at the switch zone, with Xite another six seconds back.

Johan Kristoffersson wasted no time once in the car. He swept past Catie Munnings early on during the second lap and left her to battle with Timo Scheider in the Xite car.

Munnings then lost power and slowed down. Scheider came past her, but couldn’t close in on Kristoffersson and finished 18.75s back.

JBXE, which had only made it through to the semi-finals after a penalty for Veloce, took an impressive victory in the second race of the day, beating the Acciona Sainz squad while X44 ran into more trouble.

Laia Sanz and Kevin Hansen went head to head off the line, with Hansen coming out just ahead. Sainz then came under attack from Sebastien Loeb and was passed by the X44 car.

However, the positions were swapped again in the switch zone when X44 suffered a slow stop. Carlos Sainz emerged from the switch zone in P2 and spent his lap rapidly closing the gap to Hedda Hosas. It wouldn’t be fast enough, though, and Sainz finished just under five seconds back.

A spin for Cristina Gutierrez dropped the X44 further back.

The final spot in the final was decided by a frantic crazy race.

It was a perfect lap for Nasser Al-Attiyah in the Abt Cupra run car, but the team’s race fell apart as Jutta Kleinschmidt took over. Kleinschmidt began to move before the minimum time was up, then stopped and started again. The incident meant the team was handed a 10 second penalty.

However, problems for the other three cars had left Abt with a considerable lead at the end of lap one.

The McLaren car was already out of the race due to a roll for Emma Gilmore as she battled with Sara Price off the line.

Price was P2 after the first part of the lap, but then span and had to reverse on track. Lance Woodridge in the Veloce narrowly avoided colliding with the reversing car, squeezing between the car and the course marker.

The Veloce car was just ahead when Christine GZ took over, but Kyle LeDuc soon claimed the position.

LeDuc closed the considerable gap to the Abt car to just 9.87s by the chequered flag. After the penalty was awarded, it was enough for the Chip Ganassi squad to make it through to the final.

Image courtesy of Extreme E

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: