Just Electric

Jimenez claims inaugural Jaguar eTrophy title

Jaguar Brazil Racing’s Sergio Jimenez claimed the inaugural Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy championship with a lights-to-flag win in a disrupted race in New York City.

It is Jimenez’s first title since the Formula Renault 2.0 Brazil title back in 2002.

Jimenez started from pole position following this morning’s qualifying session with team-mate Caca Bueno in second place.

He survived a last-lap safety car restart from Bueno after he decided to bolt early to hold on to the win.

Bueno got a good start off the line but, despite staying within a second for the duration of the 25-minute-plus-a-lap race, was unable to make a pass on Jimenez.

Jimenez’s win, coupled with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Bryan Sellers not starting the race, was enough to hand Jimenez the title.

Sellers had qualified in fifth place and was due to start in fourth but was unable to take the start after damage sustained in two accidents in qualifying.

Bueno came home in second place with Simon Evans completing the podium. Sellers’ RLL team-mate, Katherine Legge, finished in fourth to round out the pro class standings.

Bandar Aleysayi wrapped up the Pro-Am title with a class victory and fifth place overall as he beat Yaqi Zhang on track.

Yaqi Zhang finished second in class with Aleysayi’s Saudi Racing team-mate Ahmen Bin-Khanen completing the class podium.

Celia Martin was eighth overall and fourth in class with Ziyi Zhang finishing ninth overall.

Hacking did not finish the race after contact with Ziyi Zhang. Hacking was battling with Ziyi Zhang with the pair colliding at the Turn 10 hairpin.

Hacking ended up hitting the wall on the exit of turn 10 front on and the safety car was deployed to recover his car.

The lengthy process meant the race spent around 10 minutes under the safety car with racing only resuming on the final lap.

Photo courtesy of Jaguar Racing

Jack Amey

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: