Just Electric

Jimenez claims final pole of the season

Newly-crowned Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy champion Sergio Jimenez led a Jaguar Brazil Racing one-two in the final qualifying session of the season.

Jimenez led team-mate Caca Bueno to the front row just ahead of Team Asia New Zealand’s Simon Evans and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Katherine Legge.

His time of 1m28.491s was a tenth faster than Bueno and three tenths faster than Evans.

Evans had set the early pace in the session before being overhauled by the Brazilian duo.

Legge had struggled early in the session as she ran wide at Turns 1 and 6 on two different laps, although her time was good enough for third place.

Saudi Racing’s Ahmed Bin-Khanen claimed Pro-Am class pole ahead Yaqi Zhang who was second in class and sixth overall.

Bandar Alesayi was seventh, less than a tenth off his team-mate’s pace.

Celia Martin usurped Ziyi Zhang in the latter stages of the session with a time 1.7s off Jimenez’s time with Ziyi Zhang qualifying in ninth.

Bryan Sellers did not set a time after an oil leak was discovered on one of his motors which he described as a legacy of yesterday’s crashes in qualifying.

Jaguar VIP driver Mark Hacking also did not set a time.

Jack Amey

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: