Just Electric
Andros eTrophy cars on a snow covered track, racing beneath an inflatable "Andros" arch over the circuit.

Andros eTrophy to come to an end after the 2023-24 season

The Andros eTrophy will come to an end after 35 years of competition at the end of this season. 

The ice racing series, which has run since 1990, announced today the 2023-24 season will be its final. 

Over the years, the series has welcomed Formula 1 stars, touring car champions, and rallycross legends to snow covered circuits in France and neighbouring Andorra.  

11 drivers have claimed the overall title, including Formula 1 champion Alain Prost and Yvan Muller, who is the most successful driver in the championship with 10 titles and 48 wins. 

In 2009, the series announced an all-electric class, first won by former-Formula E driver Nico Prost. In 2020, the series became 100% electric, rebranding from Trophee Andros to eTrophee Andros for four thrilling seasons. Aurelien Panis and Jean-Baptise Dubourg have both taken two titles in the new electric era, with Panis the reigning champion. 

“Winter 2024-25 will be the first since 1990 when I will no longer be the biggest customer of Meteo France,” said series founder Max Mamers. 

“35 editions, it’s much more than an adventure, it’s a successful life story, a legacy, which ends almost naturally. 

“Let’s not be sad about this interruption, let’s rejoice in these 35 histoic editions.” 

The final season begins at Val Thorens on December 9th/10th, before the Andorra round the following weekend. 

After the new year, round three takes place at Isola 2000 on January 12th/13th. Lans en Vercors hosts round four on January 19th/20th, with the season – and series – finale at Super Besse on January 27th. 

Image courtesy of Bruno Bade/Gregoire Sigaud

Bethonie Waring

Privacy Policy

Click here to read our Privacy Policy.

%d bloggers like this: